



African Methodist Episcopal Church Fifth Episcopal District Lay Organization



Bishop Francine Brookins Presiding Prelate

Matikane Abednego Makiti Connectional Lay President

Lamar Rose President

Wendell Callaway
1st Vice President

Angela Bostick 2nd Vice President

Vanessa Anderson 3rd Vice President

Jackie Payton Recording Secretary

Brook Baylock Assistant Secretary

Frances Settles Corresponding Secretary

Florette Hampton Financial Secretary

Judith Bradley Treasurer

Jene'l Sconier Chaplain

Bill Dickens Historiographer

Monice Crawford Parliamentarian

Faye Brown Director of Lay Activities

Pamela Williams Director of Public Relations

Dallas Richardson Young Adult Representative January 2025

To: Members of the Fifth Episcopal District

From: Dr. Dorothy Vails-Weber, Scholarship Chairperson

Subject: Fifth Episcopal District Lay Organization Scholarship Program

Dear Members of the Fifth Episcopal District,

Greetings in the Name of our Lord and Savior, I greet you on behalf of the Fifth District Lay Organization and the young men and women of the District. The organization has joined with the young people of the district to assist them in "Claiming their inheritance". With a post- secondary education, the young adults of the Fifth District will have a greater capacity to participate in the multitude of opportunities offered in the 21st century.

It is to this end that we solicit your support on behalf of the young adults of the Fifth Episcopal District. They belong to all of us; clergy and laity: Lay Organizations, Missionary Societies, Presiding Elder's Councils, Women in Ministry, and the Ministerial Alliances. We solicit the support of your organization at every level of the Fifth Episcopal District; local, conference and Episcopal District.

The Fred J. Stuart scholarship of Achievement is awarded to graduating high school seniors, and the T. Larry Kirkland Scholarship of Excellence is awarded to college students returning to a post-secondary institution. Recently we added two additional scholarships: The Lay Leadership Scholarship, awarded to high school seniors who have demonstrated leadership throughout high school; and the Lay Community Service Scholarship, awarded to high school seniors who are active in their community.

In 2020, a new scholarship was added to the Fifth District Lay Scholarship program; The Bishop's Graduate Honors Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to graduate students who exemplify outstanding academic success, demonstrated leadership skills and abilities, participation in the local church Lay Organization or other church ministries, community service and a commitment to the mission of the African Methodist Episcopal Church.

During the 2023 scholarship series, we initiated the Conference Leadership Scholarship. Each of the six conferences will select a graduating high school student who demonstrated outstanding leadership in their church, school and community. The Conference Leadership Scholarship will be awarded from the Fifth District Flay Scholarship Fund.

Each scholarship will assist our young adults with much needed financial resources in the pursuits of higher education.

We are prayerful that your organization will make a financial contribution to the Scholarship Fund of the Fifth Episcopal District Lay Organization. Attached are the applications for the five scholarships we offer. We appreciate your support of our young people, and we are already praising God for your generosity.

Blessings & Thanksgiving,

Lamar Rose, President Dorothy Vails-Weber, Chairperson

Scholarship information

2025 Bishop's Graduate Honors Scholarship is established to assist men and women of the Fifth District to obtain a graduate degree education.

2025 Bishop T. Larry Kirkland Scholarship of Excellence is established to assist to young men and women of the Fifth District to obtain a college education.

2025 Fred J. Stuart Scholarship of Achievement is established to assist deserving young men and women in obtaining a post-secondary education.

2025 Community Service Scholarship is established for graduating high school seniors who have exhibited outstanding Community Service.

2025 Lay Leadership Scholarship is established for graduating high school seniors who have exhibited outstanding Leadership.

2025 Conference Leadership Scholarship is established for graduating high school seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in church, school and community.

Natalya Romo

Previous Scholarship Awardees

Southern California

Bishon's	Graduate	Honors	Scholarship
Digitop 5	Gradante		Scholar Ship

2020

2020	Trataly a Teome	
2020-2021	Destinee Williams	Desert Mountain
2024	Pamela Williams	Missouri Conference
T. Larry Kirkland Schol	larship of Excellence	
2010-2011	Andre Richards	Southern California
2011-2012	Meryl Williams	Southern California
2012-2013	Toure Owen	California Conference
2013-2014	Peyton Barber	Mid-West Conference
2014-2015	Alexis Williams	Pacific Northwest
2015-2016	Toure Owen	California Conference
2016-2017	Askia Stewart, Jr,	Desert Mountain
2017-2018	Gabrielle Kennedy	Missouri Conference
2018-2019	Logan Ruggles	California Conference
2019-2020	Shirley Magee	Southern California
2020-2021	Logan Ruggles	California Conference
2021-2022	Leslie Washington	Missouri Conference
2022-2023	Kelsie Anderson	Missouri Conference
2023-2024	Honey Rose Smith	California Conference

Fred J.	Stuart	Scholarshin	of Achievement
ricu o.	Stuart	ocholal ship	of Atomic venicine

2010-2011	Raven Rutledge	Southern California
2011-2012	Kyra Price	Southern California
2012-2013	Tonya Russell	Missouri Conference
2013-2014	Rukiyah Cotton	Southern California
2014-2015	Shaka Terry	Southern California
2015-2016	Morganne Watson	California Conference
2016-2017	Mikayla Strothers	Missouri Conference
2017-2018	Andrew Adegbolo	Southern California
2018-2019	Jerimah Riggins	Southern California
2019-2020	Ashaya Stewart	Desert Mountain
2020-2021	Alysia Counts	Midwest Conference
2021-2022	February Pulley	Missouri Conference
2022-2023	Shelby Goodman	Desert Mountain
2023-2024	Kylie Freeman	California Conference
2023-2024	A'sha Nae Hayes-Petti	California Conference

Lay Community Service Scholarship

2014-2015	Ayron Lewellan	Midwest Conference
2015-2016	Azra Carrington	California Conference
2016-2017	Samantha Davis	Pacific Northwest
2017-2018	No Selection	
2018-2019	Aisha Watt	Pacific Northwest
2019-2020	Tristyn Stewart	Southern California
2020-2021	Aliya Richardson	Southern California
2021-2022	No Selection	
2022-2023	No Selection	
2023-2024	No Selection	

Lay Leadership Scholarship

2014-2015	Jerry Buck	Missouri Conference
2015-2016	DeShon Hill	Missouri Conference
2016-2017	Jordan Brown	Missouri Conference
2017-2018	Maiyo Taylor-Jackson	California Conference
2018-2019	Logan Ruggles	California Conference
2019-2020	William Pollard, III	Missouri Conference

Conference Leadership

2022-2023	Nayla Butler	Pacific Northwest
2022-2023	Matthew Broome	Midwest Conference
2022-2023	Leza Stembridge	Desert Mountain
2022-2023	Zanaya Adams	California Conference
2023-2024	Terrell Woods	Midwest Conference
2023-2024	Cody Holmes	Southern California
2023-2024	Chance Charlmere	Pacific Northwest
2023-2024	Breanna Barnes	Desert Mountain
2023-2024	Cameron Thurman	Missouri Conference
2023-2024	Kylie Freeman	California Conference