FIFTH EPISCOPAL DISTRICT LAY ORGANIZATON AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH

NOMINATING COMMITTEE ANNOUNCEMENT LETTER OF INTENT

5th District Lay Organization African Methodist Episcopal Church 68th Annual Convention – Phoenix AZ

The Nominating Committee of the 5th District Lay Organization is now accepting **Letters of Intent** for the office of President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Third Vice President, Recording Secretary, Assistant Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Financial Secretary, Treasurer, Chaplain, Director of Lay Activities, Director of Public Relations, Historiographer, Parliamentarian and Young Adult Representative for 2025-2029.

All officers and members of the District Lay Organization and its Divisions shall be members in "good and regular standing" in their Conference, Station, or Circuit, and Local Organizations to participate in elections and voting.

Any person seeking an elected office in the District Lay Organization must possess the qualifications required for the position being sought. (Article VII, Sections 1-15 of the 5th District Lay Organization Constitution and By-Laws).

Any persons seeking an elected office must submit a "Letter of Intent" with qualifications signed by the applicant, and all levels of the Conference, Station, or Circuit, and Local Organizations and returned to: Sis. Joann Thompson, Chairperson of Nominating Committee, and must be postmarked by January 15, 2025, and mailed by U. S. Mail, to Joann Thompson, Nominating Chairperson, 601 S. Kenyon Dr., Tucson, AZ 85710. "Letters of Intent" may also be electronically submitted to: dmclopres@gmail.com by 11:59 pm January 15, 2025. If electronically submitted, the original must be postmarked no later than January 17, 2025. There shall be no nominations from the floor of the 68th Session of the 5th District Lay Organization Convention.

The 'Letter of Intent' can be obtained from the Nominating Committee Chairperson, Sis. Joann Thompson at dmclopres@gmail.com, Conference and/or your Local Lay Presidents and/or on the 5th District Lay Organization website.

- Candidates will be notified after February 15, 2025, verifying that they have met the qualifications for the office they are seeking and the approval of the Executive Board.
- No elected officers shall hold no more than two (2) elected offices beyond the Local Organization.
- Members of the Nominating Committee shall be ineligible for nomination by the committee for any elected position to be filled.
- Members of the Nominating Committee are Joann Thompson, (DMACLO) Chairperson, Michell Allert, (PNWACLO); Gerald Austin (CACLO); Dionne Thompson (SCACLO); Richard Crews (DMACLO); Foster Chisholm (MWACLO); Delores Jarrett (MOACLO).